In the late 1950’s a small group of people in the Norristown area began meeting informally to explore liberal religion. By the 1960’s they were discussing Unitarianism and meeting in one another’s homes. The Greater Norristown Unitarian Fellowship was formed in 1966 and became a chartered member of the UUA. There were about twelve members and about ten children. Almost all members were secular humanists who preferred lay leadership, and no ritual. Sunday Service topics centered on Unitarian history and principles, philosophical perspectives, and current issues.
The Fellowship was incorporated in 1974. In 1978, members voted to rename the congregation Thomas Paine Unitarian Universalist Fellowship. In the early 1990’s the congregation purchased four acres of land in a prime location with our savings, a large donation and considerable legal help from a friend of the fellowship. The building was dedicated in 1994.
In 2009, Bryant Brown was chosen and approved by the congregation. Reverend Brown was ordained and installed as Thomas Paine’s minister that fall.